ELI, the Semantic Web and Open Data

Tim Berners-Lee's* vision of the semantic Web,
*inventor of the World Wide Web

I have a dream for the Web [in which computers] become capable of analyzing all the data on the Web — the content, links, and transactions between people and computers. A “Semantic Web”, which should make this possible, has yet to emerge, but when it does, the day-to-day mechanisms of trade, bureaucracy and our daily lives will be handled by machines talking to machines. The “intelligent agents” people have touted for ages will finally materialize.

The Semantic Web

The main purpose of the Semantic Web is driving the evolution of the current Web by enabling users to find, share, and combine information more easily. The semantic web is a vision of information that can be readily interpreted by machines, so machines can perform more of the tedious work involved in finding, combining, and acting upon information on the web.

The Semantic Web is a system that enables machines to "understand" and respond to complex human requests based on their meaning. Such an "understanding" requires that the relevant information sources be semantically structured.

The Semantic Web is regarded as an integrator across different content, information applications and systems. It has applications in publishing, blogging, and many other areas.

The Semantic Web combines the concepts of "semantics", "metadata" and "ontologies".

Many files on a typical computer can also be loosely divided into human readable documents and machine readable data. Documents like mail messages, reports, and brochures are read by humans. Data, like calendars, addressbooks, playlists, and spreadsheets are presented using an application program which lets them be viewed, searched and combined.

Currently, the World Wide Web is based mainly on documents written in Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), a markup convention that is used for coding a body of text interspersed with multimedia objects such as images and interactive forms. Metadata tags provide a method by which computers can categorise the content of web pages, for example:

						<meta name="keywords" content="computing, computer studies, computer" />
<meta name="description" content="Cheap widgets for sale" />
<meta name="author" content="John Doe" />

With HTML and a tool to render it (perhaps web browser software, perhaps another user agent), one can create and present a page that lists items for sale.

The HTML of this catalog page can make simple, document-level assertions such as "this document's title is 'Widget Superstore'", but there is no capability within the HTML itself to assert unambiguously that, for example, item number X586172 is an Acme Gizmo with a retail price of €199, or that it is a consumer product.

Rather, HTML can only say that the span of text "X586172" is something that should be positioned near "Acme Gizmo" and "€199", etc. There is no way to say "this is a catalog" or even to establish that "Acme Gizmo" is a kind of title or that "€199" is a price. There is also no way to express that these pieces of information are bound together in describing a discrete item, distinct from other items perhaps listed on the page.

Semantic HTML refers to the traditional HTML practice of markup following intention, rather than specifying layout details directly. For example, the use of denoting deleted content rather than, which simply displays strikethrough text without specifying how it is laid out. Layout details are left up to the browser, in combination with Cascading Style Sheets. But this practice falls short of specifying the semantics of objects such as items for sale or prices.

Microformats extend HTML syntax to create machine-readable semantic markup about objects in a document, such as items for sale or people (e.g. "hCard").

The Semantic Web involves publishing in languages specifically designed for data: Resource Description Framework (RDF), Web Ontology Language (OWL), and Extensible Markup Language (XML). HTML describes documents and the links between them. RDF, OWL, and XML, by contrast, can describe arbitrary things such as people, meetings, or airplane parts.

These technologies are combined in order to provide descriptions that supplement or replace the content of Web documents. Thus, content may manifest itself as descriptive data stored in Web-accessible databases, or as markup within documents (particularly, in Extensible HTML (XHTML) interspersed with XML, or, more often, purely in XML, with layout or rendering cues stored separately). The machine-readable descriptions enable content managers to add meaning to the content, i.e., to describe the structure of the knowledge we have about that content. In this way, a machine can

  •  process knowledge itself, instead of text, using processes similar to human deductive reasoning and inference
  •  obtain more meaningful results and helping computers to perform automated information gathering and research

An example of a tag that would be used in a non-semantic web page:

						<item>cat</item>
					

Encoding similar information in a semantic web page might look like this:

						<item rdf:about=”http://dbpedia.org/resource/Cat”>Cat</item>
					

The pillars of the semantics

Tim Berners-Lee calls the resulting network of Linked Data the Giant Global Graph, in contrast to the HTML-based World Wide Web. Berners-Lee posits that if the past was document sharing, the future is data sharing.

His answer to the question of "how" provides three points of instruction.

  • One, a URL should point to the data.
  • Two, anyone accessing the URL should get data back.
  • Three, relationships in the data should point to additional URLs with data.

Challenges

Some of the challenges for the Semantic Web include vastness, vagueness, uncertainty, inconsistency, and deceit. Automated reasoning systems will have to deal with all of these issues in order to deliver on the promise of the Semantic Web.

LThe World Wide Web contains many billions of pages. The SNOMED CT medical terminology ontology alone contains 370,000 class names, and existing technology has not yet been able to eliminate all semantically duplicated terms. Any automated reasoning system will have to deal with truly huge inputs.

These are imprecise concepts like "young" or "tall". This arises from the vagueness of user queries, of concepts represented by content providers, of matching query terms to provider terms and of trying to combine different knowledge bases with overlapping but subtly different concepts. Fuzzy logic is the most common technique for dealing with vagueness.

These are precise concepts with uncertain values. For example, a patient might present a set of symptoms which correspond to a number of different distinct diagnoses each with a different probability. Probabilistic reasoning techniques are generally employed to address uncertainty.

These are logical contradictions which will inevitably arise during the development of large ontologies, and when ontologies from separate sources are combined. Deductive reasoning fails catastrophically when faced with inconsistency, because "anything follows from a contradiction". Defeasible reasoning and paraconsistent reasoning are two techniques which can be employed to deal with inconsistency.

This is when the producer of the information is intentionally misleading the consumer of the information. Cryptography techniques are currently utilized to alleviate this threat.

This list of challenges is illustrative rather than exhaustive, and it focuses on the challenges to the "unifying logic" and "proof" layers of the Semantic Web. Many of the techniques mentioned here will require extensions to the Web Ontology Language (OWL) for example to annotate conditional probabilities. This is an area of active research.

Semantic Web. (2014, September 3). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 12:45, September 22, 2014, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Semantic_Web&oldid=624033348

ELI, le web sémantique et l'Open Data

Vision du web sémantique de Tim Berners-Lee, l'inventeur du world wide web

J'ai fait un rêve pour le web [dans lequel les ordinateurs] deviennent capables d'analyser toutes les données sur le Web - le contenu, les liens et les transactions entre les personnes et les ordinateurs. Un "web sémantique", qui devrait rendre cela possible, n'a pas encore émergé, mais quand ce sera fait,les mécanismes d'échange au jour le jour, de bureaucratie et de nos vies quotidiennes seront traités par des machines dialoguant avec d'autres machines. Les "agents intelligents" qu'on nous promet depuis longtemps vont enfin se concrétiser.

Le Web sémantique

Le but principal du Web sémantique est d'orienter l'évolution du Web pour permettre aux utilisateurs de trouver, partager et combiner l'information plus facilement. Le Web sémantique est une vision de l'information qui permet d'être lisible par les humains et par les machines. Cela permettra d'effectuer les travaux fastidieux et répétitifs dans le domaine de la recherche d'information par des machines tout en améliorant et consolidant l'information sur le Web pour ses utilisateurs.

Le Web sémantique est un système qui permet aux machines de « comprendre » et de répondre aux demandes complexes de l'homme en fonction du sens de ces demandes. Une telle « compréhension » exige que les sources d'information pertinentes aient été sémantiquement structurées au préalable.

Le Web sémantique est considéré comme une passerelle pour accéder aux données entre différentes applications et systèmes. Les applications sont nombreuses dans l'édition, les blogs, et de nombreux autres domaines.

Le « Web sémantique » manipule les concepts de « sémantique », « métadonnées » et « ontologie ».

Les fichiers documents d’un ordinateur peuvent être classés en deux catégories : les documents lisibles par l'homme et les données lisibles par la machine. Des documents comme des courriers électroniques, rapports ou brochures sont lisibles par les humains. Par contre, les données contenues dans des calendriers, carnets d'adresses, listes de lecture ou feuilles de calcul sont lisibles à condition d'utiliser une application qui permet de les lire, les fouiller et les transformer de différentes manières.

Actuellement, le World Wide Web est basé principalement sur des documents écrits en un langage de balisage hypertexte (HTML), c'est-à-dire une convention de balisage qui est utilisée pour coder un texte parsemé d'objets multimédias tels que des images et des formulaires interactifs. Les balises de métadonnées fournissent une méthode par laquelle les ordinateurs peuvent catégoriser le contenu des pages web ; par exemple :

						<meta name="keywords" content="computing, computer studies, computer" />
<meta name="description" content="Cheap widgets for sale" />
<meta name="author" content="John Doe" />

Avec le HTML et un outil pour l'afficher (typiquement, un navigateur web), on peut créer et présenter une page qui affiche une page de catalogue de produits.

Le HTML d'une page d'un catalogue peut se faire simplement, le document contenant des informations telles que « le titre de ce document est “Supermarché de Gadgets” », mais le code HTML est incapable de définir sans ambiguïté que, par exemple, l'article numéro X586172 est une table avec un prix de 199 €, ni qu'il s'agit d'un produit de consommation.

Le HTML peut seulement dire que la plage de texte « X586172 » est quelque chose qui doit être positionné à proximité de « Meuble » et de « 199 € », etc. Il n'y a pas moyen de dire que « ceci est une page de catalogue », ni encore de dire que « Meuble » est une sorte de titre, ni même de savoir que « 199 € » est un prix. Il n'y a aucun moyen d'exprimer que ces morceaux d'information sont liés entre eux pour décrire un élément discret, distinct des autres articles qui peuvent être listés sur une même page.

Le HTML sémantique fait référence à l'utilisation de balises HTML pour insérer des informations supplémentaires dans le document. Par exemple, l'utilisation de l'élément HTML « del » désignant un contenu supprimé plutôt que « strike » qui se contente d'afficher un texte barré et qui ne spécifie que sa mise en forme. Le HTML sémantique laisse la mise en page au navigateur en y ajoutant des feuilles de style. Mais cette pratique atteint ses limites quand il s'agit de spécifier la sémantique des objets tels que des produits à vendre.

Les microformats sont des tentatives officieuses visant à étendre la syntaxe HTML pour qu'une machine puisse lire le balisage sémantique à propos d'objets dans un document tels que des articles à vendre ou des contacts (exemple avec « hcard »).

Le Web sémantique propose des langages spécialement conçus pour les données : RDF (Resource Description Framework), OWL (Ontology Web Language), etXML (eXtensible Markup Language). HTML décrit les documents et les liens entre eux. RDF, OWL, et XML, en revanche, peuvent décrire également des choses, comme des personnes, des réunions, ou des pièces d'avion.

Ces technologies sont combinées afin de fournir des descriptions qui complètent ou remplacent le contenu des documents Web. Ainsi, le contenu peut se manifester sous forme de données descriptives stockées dans des bases de données accessibles sur le Web ou à travers des balises dans les documents. Ces données peuvent être alors entrecoupées de XML, ou parfois publiées uniquement en XML, avec une mise en page et des données stockées séparément. Les descriptions lisibles par une machine permettent aux gestionnaires de contenu d'ajouter du sens à leurs contenus, c'est-à-dire de décrire la structure des connaissances au sein du contenu. De cette manière, une machine peut :

  •  traiter la connaissance elle-même,au lieu du texte, en utilisant des procédés similaires à un raisonnement déductif humain et de l'inférence,
  •  obtenir des résultats plus significatifs tout en aidant les ordinateurs à effectuer de la collecte d'informations automatisée et ainsi faciliter la recherche.

Voici un exemple de balise qui serait utilisée dans une page web non sémantique :

						<item>cat</item>
					

Le codage d'informations similaires dans une page web sémantique pourrait ressembler à ceci :

						<item rdf:about=”http://dbpedia.org/resource/Cat”>Cat</item>
					

Les piliers du Web Sémantique

Tim Berners-Lee pousse à l'émergence d'un réseau de données liées (linked data, en anglais), ou Web des données (en français), pour obtenir le « Graphe Globale Géant », contrairement à la « Toile » (Web) mondiale basée sur des pages HTML. Tim Berners-Lee pose comme principe que si, par le passé, on partageait des documents, alors, dans l'avenir, nous partagerons des données.

Sa réponse à la question « comment ? » repose sur trois piliers.

  • Un, une URL doit pointer vers les données.
  • Deux, n’importe qui accédant à l'URL doit pouvoir récupérer des données.
  • Trois, les relations dans les données doivent pointer vers d'autres URL avec des données.

Les défis de la sémantique

Quelques-uns des défis du Web sémantique sont l'immensité, l'imprécision, l'incertitude, l'incohérence, et la tromperie. Les systèmes de raisonnement automatisé devront faire face à toutes ces questions, afin d'être à la hauteur de la promesse du Web sémantique.

Le World Wide Web contient plusieurs milliards de pages. L'ontologie de la terminologie médicale SNOMED CT contient à elle seule 370 000 noms de classes, et aucune technologie existante n'a été encore en mesure d'éliminer tous les doublons du point de vue sémantique de cette ontologie. À l’avènement du Web sémantique, tous les systèmes de raisonnement automatisé devront alors gérer une quantité de paramètres vraiment énorme.

Il existe des notions imprécises comme « jeune » ou « grand ». Ceci découle de l'imprécision des requêtes des utilisateurs qui s'alignent sur les termes utilisés par les fournisseurs de contenu. Les fournisseurs ayant des bases de connaissances qui se chevauchent, recréent cependant différents concepts avec des différences subtiles. La logique floue est la technique la plus courante pour faire face à l'imprécision.

Ce sont des concepts précis avec des valeurs incertaines. Par exemple, un patient peut présenter un ensemble de symptômes qui correspondent à un certain nombre de diagnostics différents, chacun avec une probabilité différente. Les techniques de raisonnement probabiliste sont généralement employées pour traiter l'incertitude.

Ce sont des contradictions logiques qui surgiront inévitablement au cours du développement des grandes ontologies, et quand les ontologies à partir de sources distinctes seront combinées. Le raisonnement déductif échouera face à cette incohérence parce que d'une contradiction on peut en déduire n'importe quoi (principe d'explosion). Le raisonnement révisable (en) et le raisonnement paraconsistant (en) sont deux techniques qui peuvent être utilisées pour faire face à l'incohérence.

Cela arrive quand le producteur d'une information désire volontairement tromper le consommateur de ce type d'information. les techniques decryptographie sont actuellement utilisées pour remédier à cette menace et ainsi veiller à l'intégrité des données.

Cette liste de défis est plus illustrative qu'exhaustive car elle se concentre sur les défis de la couche de « logique d'unification » et de « preuve » pour la mise en œuvre du Web sémantique. La plupart des techniques mentionnées ici devront étendre le langage OWL (Web Ontology Language) par exemple pour annoter la probabilité conditionnelle d'une information. Il s'agit d'un domaine de recherche actif.